Our Education Model

Our educational content is based on the UK-based Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum alongside with Montessori curriculum. They both acknowledge that every child is unique, they learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships and they learn well in enabling environments, in different ways and at different rates. For this reason, we offer our students a rich learning environment in which positive relationships are established and we evaluate them according to their individual pace.

The EYFS curriculum is divided into seven areas of learning. Three of these are prime areas that are very important in triggering children’s curiosity, willingness to learn and developing their capacity to learn, to build relationships and to be successful.
The Prime Areas:

• Personal, Social and Emotional Development
• Communication and Language
• Physical Development

Children are supported by four specific areas that strengthen and implement these three prime areas.
The Specific Areas:

• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding of the World
• Expressive Arts and Design

The Prime Areas

1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

We place a great deal of emphasis on this particular area because it is at the heart of all other learning. Children will be encouraged to develop social skills; respecting others, behaving appropriately in groups and learn how to manage their feelings and to have confidence in their own abilities.

2. Communication and Language

Speaking and listening forms a vital part of the children’s daily experience. Therefore, they will be encouraged to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves and speak and listen in a range of situations such as topic time, storytelling, circle time and etc.

3. Physical Development

Children are active and with both indoor and outdoor activities, they will be encouraged to develop co-ordination, control and movement. They will also learn about what they need to do to keep themselves healthy; make healthy choices in relation to food and personal hygiene.

The Specific Areas

4. Literacy

The children will be encouraged to start to associate sounds and letters and begin reading and writing. They will learn the phonetic sounds of letters and to trace around the letter shape by using the Sandpaper letters. This brings in the muscular memory which helps them to write for themselves.

5. Mathematical Development

The children’s mathematical knowledge and skills will be developed through varied practical activities including counting, sorting, making patterns, games, early addition and subtraction, shape, measuring, weighing and capacity. The Montessori mathematics materials allow children to begin their mathematical journey from the concrete to the abstract through manipulation, experimentation and invention.

6. Understanding of the World

The children will be developing knowledge and understanding of their environment, other people and features of the natural and unnatural world. It provides the foundation for scientific, technological, historical and geographical learning. The Montessori cultural materials introduce children to new aspects of the wider world.

7. Expressive Arts and Design

The children will be given many opportunities to explore and express their own ideas through art and design, movement, drama, music, stories and role-play.